backGoBase.org Fujitsu, Ltd. index | rules of go
Go, an addictive game Copyright © 1994-2014 GoBase
studying go | rules  

2.3.3 Questions of Reinforcement (1)

The preceding question about the final ko should be considered as an instance of the more general question of reinforcing moves. In Dia. 2-6, where Black still has more ko threats, he may claim that since he does not have to connect at 1, he does not have to capture the white stone by playing 2 either. This is essentially the question that arose in the Go-Iwamoto game. For a further question, how should the three-stage ko in Dia. 2-7-1 be resolved? When Black takes the ko at 1, White plays 2 in Dia. 2-7-2 to create a ko threat. When Black proceeds to capture at 3, White plays his ko threat at 4 and retakes the ko with 6. Black has no ko threats. Can the game end as in Dia. 2-7-3 without White's having to make any further reinforcing moves?

IMAGES IMAGES
Dia. 2-6 Dia. 2-7-1
IMAGES IMAGES
Dia. 2-7-2 Dia. 2-7-3
INDEX PROPOSED RULES OF GO
PREV NEXT

advertisements

index | rules of go

home > rules of go

Feedback: editor@gobase.org