backGoBase.org Fujitsu, Ltd. index | rules of go
Go, an addictive game Copyright © 1994-2014 GoBase
studying go | rules  

6.10 Unstable Seki: Thousand-Year Ko

In Dia. 6-15-1, if Black does nothing the position is a seki, but if Black plays 1, the result is a thousand-year ko as shown in Dia. 6-15-2. After capturing and connecting the ko to create a seki as in Dia. 6-15-3, Black can destroy this seki and create a new seki as shown in Dia. 6-15-4.

IMAGES IMAGES
Dia. 6-15-1 Dia. 6-15-2
IMAGES IMAGES
Dia. 6-15-3 Dia. 6-15-4

Even though the position in Dia. 6-15-1 is almost unimaginable in actual games, it must be considered when rules are studied. If the position in Dia. 6-15-1 exists together with other black ko threats that White cannot eliminate, then Black can destroy the seki, create a thousand-year ko, and capture White. This position should of course be resolved by actual play.

INDEX PROPOSED RULES OF GO
PREV NEXT

advertisements

www.kostenlosspielen.biz

index | rules of go

home > rules of go

Feedback: editor@gobase.org