home | prev | index | next
Go, an addictive game Copyright © 1994-2015 GoBase
Japan  tournaments | judan tournament  

The Judan title is decided in a best of five match with 6 hours thinking time per person. The challenger comes from a knockout tournament with 16 participants. The 34th edition of the tournament shows the knockout tournament, so you can get an idea. These pages include all title match games and the knockout games when available. The Japanese Title Overview page shows what's available.

The Judan is the fourth most prestigeous title with a first prize of about USD 75,000,=

 Sankei Shimbun 
 3d3d  434a 
Edition Final Details
48th 2010 Cho U Yamashita Keigo 3-0
47th 2009 Cho U Takao Shinji 3-1
46th 2008 Takao Shinji Cho Chikun 3-0
45th 2007 Cho Chikun Yamashita Keigo 3-2
44th 2006 Cho Chikun Yamashita Keigo 3-1
43rd 2005 Cho Chikun O Rissei 3-2
42nd 2004 O Rissei Cho U 3-1
41st 2003 O Rissei Takao Shinji 3-2
40th 2002 O Rissei Takemiya Masaki 3-2
39th 2001 O Rissei Kobayashi Koichi 3-2
38th 2000 Kobayashi Koichi Nakano Hironari 3-0
37th 1999 Kobayashi Koichi Hikosaka Naoto 3-0
36th 1998 Hikosaka Naoto Kato Masao 3-2
35th 1997 Kato Masao Yoda Norimoto 3-2
34th 1996 Yoda Norimoto O Rissei 3-1
33rd 1995 Yoda Norimoto Otake Hideo 3-0
32nd 1994 Otake Hideo Kobayashi Koichi 3-2
31st 1993 Otake Hideo Takemiya Masaki 3-1
30th 1992 Takemiya Masaki Kobayashi Koichi 3-1
29th 1991 Takemiya Masaki Cho Chikun 3-2
28th 1990 Takemiya Masaki Cho Chikun 3-2
27th 1989 Cho Chikun Rin Kaiho 3-0
26th 1988 Cho Chikun Kato Masao 3-2
25th 1987 Kato Masao Kobayashi Koichi 3-1
24th 1986 Kobayashi Koichi Takemiya Masaki 3-0
23rd 1985 Kobayashi Koichi Otake Hideo 3-0
22nd 1984 Kobayashi Koichi Kato Masao 3-2
21st 1983 Kato Masao Cho Chikun 3-2
20th 1982 Cho Chikun Otake Hideo 3-1
19th 1981 Otake Hideo Hashimoto Shoji 3-0
18st 1980 Otake Hideo Kato Masao 3-2
17th 1979 Kato Masao Hashimoto Shoji 3-1
16th 1978 Kato Masao Rin Kaiho 3-1
15th 1977 Kato Masao Sakata Eio 3-0
14th 1976 Kato Masao Rin Kaiho 3-2
13th 1975 Rin Kaiho Hashimoto Shoji 3-0
12th 1974 Hashimoto Shoji Sakata Eio 3-1
11th 1973 Sakata Eio Takagi Shoichi 3-0
10th 1972 Sakata Eio Hashimoto Utaro 3-2
9th 1971 Hashimoto Utaro Otake Hideo 3-2
8th 1969 Otake Hideo Sakata Eio 3-0
7th 1968 Sakata Eio Fujisawa Shuko 3-1
6th 1967 Sakata Eio Fujisawa Hosai 3-2
5th 1966 Sakata Eio Takagawa Shukaku 3-1
4th 1965 Takagawa Shukaku Fujisawa Hosai 3-1
3rd 1964 Fujisawa Hosai Handa Dogen 3-2
2nd 1963 Handa Dogen Hashimoto Utaro 3-1
1st 1962 Hashimoto Utaro Handa Dogen 3-1


Mahjong Solitaire:
Free Online Mahjongg Games Kostenlos Mahjong Spielen Gratis Mahjong Spellen


In the overview players link to their biographies while results link to a detailed description of the edition.

+ Sankei coverage external link

To find the name of a player in other languages such as Chinese or Korean please refer either to the dictionary pages, Internet Go Dictionary or their biography pages.


If you have additional information to the supplied info or if you can supply us with the results of other tournaments please send an E-mail about it and it will be included on these pages.

home | prev | index | next

home > japanese go scene > judan tournament