3.7 Territory in Seki and One-Sided Neutral Points
Since area rules are basically concerned with who is able to play the
most stones, territory in seki and other points that can be occupied by
only one side are counted for the side that can occupy them. The points
'a,' 'b,' and so on in Dia. 3-8 each have a value of one point to Black.
Traditional territory rules maintain the principle that points like
these are not territory and should not be counted. For that reason
life and seki must be rigorously defined, something which traditional
territory rules have not necessarily accomplished. This is a major
Whether to count territory and one-sided neutral points in a seki is an
important choice that has to be made in formulating territory rules. One
stance, taken by territory rules II in Part I, is to respect tradition
and not count these points. Another stance, taken by territory rules
I, is to count these points in order to simplify the rules and reach
agreement with area rules.