home | prev | index | next
Go, an addictive game Copyright © 1994-2023 GoBase
Japan  tournaments | tengen tournament  

The Tengen title is decided in a best of five match. The challenger is decided in a large knockout tournament starting with about 40 players. The 20th edition will give you some idea of the tournament structure. Up to the 5th edition the title was decided by a match between the finalists of the knockout main tournament. Kato Masao was thus the first player to hold the title. The Japanese Title Overview page shows what's available.

 Sankei Shimbun 
 4537  3835 
Edition Final Details
47th 2021 Seki Kotaro Ichiriki Ryo 3-1
46th 2020 Ichiriki Ryo Iyama Yuta 3-2
45th 2019 Iyama Yuta Kyo Kagen 3-2
44th 2018 Iyama Yuta Yamashita Keigo 3-2
43rd 2017 Iyama Yuta Ichiriki Ryo 3-0
42nd 2016 Iyama Yuta Ichiriki Ryo 3-1
41st 2015 Iyama Yuta Takao Shinji 3-0
40th 2014 Takao Shinji Iyama Yuta 3-2
39th 2013 Iyama Yuta Akiyama Jiro 3-0
38th 2012 Iyama Yuta Kono Rin 3-0
37th 2011 Iyama Yuta Yuki Satoshi 3-0
36th 2010 Yuki Satoshi Yamashita Keigo 3-0
35th 2009 Yamashita Keigo Cho U 3-2
34th 2008 Cho U Kono Rin 3-0
33rd 2007 Kono Rin Yamashita Keigo 3-1
32nd 2006 Kono Rin Yamashita Keigo 3-1
31st 2005 Kono Rin Yamashita Keigo 3-2
30th 2004 Yamashita Keigo Hane Naoki 3-0
29th 2003 Hane Naoki Yamashita Keigo 3-2
28th 2002 Hane Naoki Cho Sonjin 3-0
27th 2001 Hane Naoki Ryu Shikun 3-1
26th 2000 Ryu Shikun Kobayashi Koichi 3-0
25th 1999 Kobayashi Koichi Kudo Norio 3-0
24th 1998 Kobayashi Koichi Kudo Norio 3-2
23rd 1997 Kudo Norio Ryu Shikun 3-1
22nd 1996 Ryu Shikun Rin Kaiho 3-2
21th 1995 Ryu Shikun Kobayashi Koichi 3-2
20th 1994 Ryu Shikun Rin Kaiho 3-1
19th 1993 Rin Kaiho Kataoka Satoshi 3-1
18th 1992 Rin Kaiho Yamashiro Hiroshi 3-1
17th 1991 Rin Kaiho Kato Masao 3-1
16th 1990 Rin Kaiho Kobayashi Koichi 3-1
15th 1989 Rin Kaiho Cho Chikun 3-2
14th 1988 Cho Chikun Sonoda Yuichi 3-2
13th 1987 Cho Chikun Kobayashi Koichi 3-2
12rd 1986 Kobayashi Koichi Sonoda Yuichi 3-1
11nd 1985 Kobayashi Koichi Ishida Yoshio 3-0
10st 1984 Ishida Yoshio Kataoka Satoshi 3-1
9th 1983 Kataoka Satoshi Awaji Shuzo 3-1
8th 1982 Kataoka Satoshi Kato Masao 3-2
7th 1981 Kato Masao Kobayashi Koichi 3-2
6th 1980 Kato Masao Yamabe Toshiro 3-0
5th 1979 Kato Masao Kataoka Satoshi 3-0
4th 1978 Kato Masao Fujisawa Shuko 3-1
3rd 1977 Shimamura Toshihiro Sonoda Yuichi 3-1
2nd 1977 Kobayashi Koichi Sugiuchi Masao 3-1
1st 1976 Fujisawa Shuko Ohira Shuzo 3-1


Mahjong Solitaire:
Free Online Mahjongg Games Kostenlos Mahjong Spielen Gratis Mahjong Spellen


In the overview players link to their biographies while results link to a detailed description of the edition.

+ Hokkaido Shimbun external link

To find the name of a player in other languages such as Chinese or Korean please refer either to the dictionary pages, Internet Go Dictionary or their biography pages.


If you have additional information to the supplied info or if you can supply us with the results of other tournaments please send an E-mail about it and it will be included on these pages.

home | prev | index | next

home > japanese go scene > tengen tournament